Sunday, July 3, 2011

Harry Potter: The Four Hogwarts Houses

All students at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry are sorted into one of four houses before they begin their first year of study. The house sorting is done by the Sorting Hat, an old conical hat that is set upon the head of each student in turn and that shouts out the name of the student's house. Below are the four houses.

  • Founder: Godric Gryffindor
  • Head: Professor Minerva McGonagall
  • Ghost: Nearly Headless Nick (Sir Nicholas de Mimsy-Porpington)
  • Colors: Red and gold
  • Animal: Lion
  • Characteristic: Courage

  • Founder: Salazar Slytherin
  • Head: Professor Severus Snape / Professor Horace Slughorn
  • Ghost: The Bloody Baron
  • Colors: Green and silver
  • Animal: Serpent
  • Characteristic: Ambition

  • Founder: Rowena Ravenclaw
  • Head: Professor Filius Flitwick
  • Ghost: The Grey Lady (Helena Ravenclaw)
  • Colors: Blue and bronze
  • Animal: Eagle
  • Characteristic: Intelligence

  • Founder: Helga Hufflepuff
  • Head: Professor Pomona Sprout
  • Ghost: The Fat Friar
  • Colors: Yellow and black
  • Animal: Badger
  • Characteristic: Loyalty

The main characters of the Harry Potter novels are Gryffindors. These include Harry Potter, Ron Weasley and the entire Weasley family, Hermione Granger, Neville Longbottom, James Potter, Lily Evans Potter, Sirius Black, Remus Lupin, and Peter Pettigrew.

The house to which I most gravitate is Ravenclaw. I would love to be in a house that values intelligence and learning. My favorite color is blue, and I love Professor Flitwick. The Ravenclaw common room is in one of the Hogwarts towers, possesses a light and airy atmosphere, and overlooks a gorgeous mountain view.

No comments:

Post a Comment